Skip to content

Do Any of the Cool Kids Write Memoirs?

April 15, 2011

I will admit, I am not a big memoir person. Not necessarily because I hate memoirs, but more because I prefer to read people talking about other people, not about themselves. I don’t like listening to people who are full of themselves. Except me, of course.

Fortunately, the book I am about to discuss is very much not a cool kid’s memoir.

I mean, just look at the title:

My Best Friend Is a Wookiee: One Boy’s Journey to Find His Place in the Galaxy
By Tony Pacitti

If that’s not a kid who grew up getting wedgies, I don’t know who is.

Ok, when you read the book you find out that he doesn’t get quite as many wedgies as you may think. But he’s certainly a kid who wasn’t high on the social ladder. Actually, he didn’t really even seem to be on the ladder. He wasn’t ground into the dust beneath it; more like he was standing next to it, looking up, and wondering how all those cool kids got up there, and why he couldn’t see up the skirts of any of the girls.

This book is an endearing look at what makes a geek, well, a geek. It will be a welcome walk down memory lane for anyone who grew up in the same era–you first saw Star Wars on VHS as a kid, fell in love with the story, then practically died and went to heaven when you found out it was being re-released in the theaters before episodes 1-3 (or rather I-III) were finally(!) going to come out.

Pacitti draws on his experiences, from painful to humorous to a healthy mixture of the two, as he leads you into the inner workings of his adolescent years. He speaks truth to the idea that you can only write well from pain, but brings enough jocularity to the conversation as to help you see that he has finally, mostly, somewhat, grown up and moved on from the introverted little dweeb that he was. Or at least he can laugh about it now.

Never mind that reading a “memoir” of someone who seems to be about 4 years my junior is slightly disconcerting as I sit here at the ripe old age of 31.

But if you loved Star Wars and hated Jar Jar Binks, if you grew up outside the “cool kids” stratosphere, if you (like me) never got to watch MTV and remained ever so clueless as to why everyone cared so much about it, chances are you’re going to like this easy-to-read, easy-to-laugh-along-with book.

Just beware that people may automatically attribute his dorkiness to you if they see you reading it on the train. Which is probably why taking off the dust cover doesn’t help. I guess Pacitti figured he’d use this as an opportunity to out you, too.

Unless, of course, you’re one of the cool kids. If you are, maybe this will shed some light for you on the rest of us.

And let me know if you ever plan on writing a memoir.

[This review was unsolicited. I purchased this book with my very own money and simply chose to review it here on my blog. I did not get anything out of it other than a brief respite from the gnawing hunger that threatens my spirit when I am not reading.]

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lela permalink
    April 15, 2011 9:53 am

    That book sounds like a good one. I am headed to Barnes and Noble today and will check it out–tyring to reward myself with non-food items!

Leave a Reply

