Skip to content

I Love Dolphins… I Mean Endorphins

March 27, 2011

I’ve written about working out a few times lately, and I think part of it is because I’ve really just been enjoying the fact that I’ve found a way to feel good about myself, and to actually feel, well, good. I mean, everyone’s heard about endorphins and the runner’s high and all of that, but right now I just can’t get over how much I love that feeling.

It hit me a couple of days ago, at the gym, fancy that… the word endorphin looks a lot like dolphin. It also looks like it shouldn’t be a word, which is backed up by the fact that I just had to add it to my Google Chrome dictionary so it would stop giving me the squiggly red line every time I typed it.

But really, I like thinking of endorphins and dolphins. Dolphins are pretty and happy, and they love to frolic and play. They are free-spirited but they’ve been known to help people too. And in a way, that’s what my endorphins do for me. They help me to feel free-spirited, pretty, and happy, and they make me want to go back for more. And that’s helping me a LOT because I know that at the end of a long day at work, my best bet isn’t to go home and drown my stress in a pizza, it’s to go kick my stress’s butt with some cardio.

So now when I work out, I see dolphins jumping. And I think “hey, what do you know–that’s me!”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2011 9:07 pm

    How wonderfully random!

    Stopping by from SITS

  2. March 28, 2011 9:53 pm

    Maybe that’s where the name dolphin came from, endorphin or the other way around. 🙂 Glad you found the way to make yourself feel good.

    Dropping by from SITS!

Leave a Reply

