Skip to content

This is Why I’m Working Out

March 18, 2011

Come to Mama

So a few months ago I started working out again. I can’t tell you how weird it felt to go back to the Bally’s that I used to belong to over 5 years ago. (Some of the machines are still there and I think I actually saw my old trainer.)

But, after many moons of being out of commission due to my bum knees, I was itching to get back into doing something healthy. I can’t even begin to tell you how much I miss my friend Myrna’s Zumba classes! But, my doctor wasn’t really a fan of me jumping and twisting, and I just can’t not do that when I’m in her super-fun classes! (my fault, not hers)

So, back to the gym I went. And let me tell you, it’s really working! I live in a 4th floor walk-up, so mornings and evenings are always the bane of my existence. Going downstairs especially is really tough on the knees. But with my new workout, I’ve actually been able to manage stairs a whole ton better, thank God!

Another added benefit that I don’t remember as well from my past life in the gym… the endorphins! If you work out you know this, but it came as a tremendously extraordinary surprise the first time my bad day at work was completely wiped away by 45 minutes of cardio and reps on the weight machines. I was in a good mood by the time I got home!!

Here’s the thing about working out though, when you have over 100 pounds to lose (there, I said it) you absolutely have to take any small steps as a big huge win, because it’s almost impossible to lose that much weight in less than a year, short of joining The Biggest Loser. And let’s not forget the delightfully sadistic bloating and food cravings that happen about every 28 days or so and threaten everything you’ve worked for in the last 3 weeks.

What do I do, then? I’ve decided to set small goals. Getting to the next “ten” on my scale. Being able to go up the stairs without holding onto the wall or railing. And… I bought those shoes. Go ahead, you can scroll back up.

These shoes are sooo hot. And they’re 6-inch heels.

I’m clearly not wearing these out any time soon… at least not for more than about 45 minutes.

But when I was in high school and college, I used to wear the best heels and platforms. 10 years and those 100 pounds later, I’ve got bad knees, fallen arches, and I’ve gone up about 1 1/2 shoe sizes.

However.

I have a goal. My goal is to get back to healthy. My goal is to get back into heels. My goal is to be able to be the me I see in my head, not the me I see in the mirror. Don’t get me wrong… I love the girl in the mirror. She’s been through a lot, and she’s learned the very fine art of making what you have look good. I just look forward to having a tad bit less. πŸ™‚

So that is why I’m working out.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 3:22 pm

    Woot! You’ve got all the right pieces. Small steps is the only way to go – for anyone! And small goals is the way to do it, for sure. Live for the endorphins. OH, and those shoes ARE hot! Awesome visual goal πŸ˜‰ As a personal trainer, I love this post – you have an awesome attitude!

  2. Emily C. permalink
    March 18, 2011 5:57 pm

    You are awesome! and i’m so proud of you! Weight gain/the need to lose weight is so hard to face and even harder to do something about. and then to go public…to set goals…to open the door for ACCOUNTABILITY…that takes a lot. So go you and please let me know if there’s anyway i can encourage or help you!!

    • March 18, 2011 6:12 pm

      Thanks Emily, that means a lot!!! I give you permission to raise your eyebrow at me if you see me posting anything on FB about eating too much random junk food or finding excusing to not go to the gym. πŸ™‚

  3. Angela Kirkwood permalink
    March 19, 2011 6:44 am

    I love your blog. Hot shoes!

  4. March 20, 2011 10:10 pm

    Holy smokes, those shoes are hot! Thanks for sharing your story. I’ve been struggling with getting motivated enough to start working out again and I think you totally motivated me just now! πŸ™‚
    Thanks so much for stopping by. It’s so great to meet new people. Have a great day.

    • March 20, 2011 10:15 pm

      Thanks Kristi!! I’ve been searching for a motivational image for a long time, and I think those shoes are just the thing.

Leave a Reply

