Skip to content

Running Madly, Going Nowhere

March 15, 2011

 

Watching all the people on the treadmills at my gym is absolutely fascinating. I was at the very end of the back row yesterday, on the elliptical, and I couldn’t help but stare, mesmerized, at all the bouncing heads. It’s like watching the ocean: a constant, ever-changing motion, yet it’s somehow always the same.

It’s just interesting, too, because now that it’s getting warmer I just wonder how many people will eschew the gym for the sidewalk or trail, or if they will all keep coming, and running like hamsters on their wheels all year long.

Don’t get me wrong, It’s gotta be nice to to worry about weather or traffic, but it just seems so funny.

And don’t forget, I use the elliptical–my doctor told me to. I have bad knees at the moment, so the machine lets me work out without the impact. Much better than running or even walking. 🙂

But here’s the thing, when I see all those people running in place, I wonder, how many of them know Jesus? How many of them are here because they know that their body really is the Temple of the Most High God and that they should take care of it because He resides in it… and how many of them are here because they want to lose weight to be accepted, or to get hot and get laid.

Because if you feel that working out is going to solve something or accomplish something besides being a good steward of your body, you might need to think about what it is you want fixed in your life. Otherwise you’re just going to keep running and running, and getting nowhere.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 9:05 am

    What an awesome observation! I can totally picture it in my mind. Funny, I have a friend who works out on a treadmill year round – and he lives in Southern California. I just don’t get it, but you made some good points. Me? I’m only on the treadmill or bike trainer when weather forces it. Otherwise, you’ll find me outside enjoying the earth that God created! And I’m all about taking care of the body – we’re only given one. If we don’t take care of it, who will?

    • March 15, 2011 10:17 pm

      You’re absolutely right, Ally! One of my goals for the summer is to get outside more. Put something good on the iPod and go walk around in my new Shape-Ups, and get some good ol’ fashioned fresh air and sunshine. And it’s free, too. 🙂

  2. March 16, 2011 10:57 am

    Enjoyed this post — there do seem to be a lot of people running and running to nowhere! Thanks for stopping by on my SITS day!

Leave a Reply

