Skip to content

SWS – I Love Me Some Brie!

February 26, 2011

There is Something Magical about Brie

Conceptually, I know that my cat loves dairy. He doesn’t go crazy for Coco Puffs, he goes gaga for Gorgonzola. Or, in this case, brie.

I went to World Market last night to buy a present for my sister (more on that later as I haven’t given it to her yet) and decided to wander vaguely through the aisles. This is always fun because they have Cadbury products, hilarious random toys, and of course, all the food.

About two years ago (!) They had a display table with water crackers and cheese. On a whim I bought one of each, and realized that Brie spread on water crackers is my reason for living.

And then I never found that cheese again.

Until last night.

Let me explain. I have looked for this particular type of cheese, not just “brie.” I mean, I’ve found brie. You can get those circle containers with wedges of brie, you can get little tubs of brie, it’s really all over the place. But the one that I liked the best, the one which tastes ever so much better than all the rest (probably because it’s not real cheese but lets ignore that, shall we) is the one at World Market. And I could. Not. Find. It.

Until last night.

Do you know their spread-on-a-cracker cheeses are next to the anchovies???

No wonder I’ve never seen them again. Because, um, ew.

So last night I was walking up and down the aisles and I happened to look a row ahead–lo and behold! Could that be my gold foil-covered wedges of bliss???? But in true anal-retentiveness, I continued to turn down the next aisle, and patiently made my way down it, all the while thinking “Was that it? Did I really see my cheese?”

And when I’d turned down the next aisle I couldn’t see it. All I saw were assorted gross foods that people apparently spread on crackers. I prepared to accept the mirage and walk by until it hit me that if people spread gross food on crackers, wouldn’t they, despite their propensity towards grossness, also enjoy some dairy delight on said crackers? So I went back, and looked harder.

And Voila!

I found it!

So of course I bought it.

I also bought a pack of McVitie’s milk chocolate digestives. (Cookies. Oddly-named, but yummy!)

I ate most of the cheese and crackers when I got home last night. (And a digestive or two) And my cat spent the entire evening pawing at my leg for me to give him some.

I had the rest of the cheese and crackers for breakfast this morning. (And a digestive or two) And my cat spent the entire morning pawing at my leg for me to give him some.

And I simply must say, there’s something magical about Brie.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily C. permalink
    February 26, 2011 9:02 am

    I love brie and digestives!!!

  2. February 26, 2011 12:44 pm

    Now if they had chocolate covered HobNobs, that would be something! Much better than plain old digestives.

  3. February 26, 2011 1:20 pm

    I’m not much of a brie person but I love those Laughing Cow wedges. I eat that with crackers, pretzels, carrot and celery sticks.

    visiting from SITS

  4. February 26, 2011 7:15 pm

    I’m a big fan of cheese in general. Have you ever tried San Andre? I LOVE IT! I could eat it every day.

Leave a Reply

