Skip to content

How Many Books Do You Own?

February 18, 2011

Three Hundred and Twenty-Five.

In my living room.

Ok I probably don’t have too many hiding anywhere else in my apartment.

But wow.

I’m sure some of you out there can scoff at my paltry 350, but I would suspect that for others of you I have just validated your suspicion that I actually have no life.

Because clearly all I do is read.

Oh wait, my sister’s borrowing one of my books. 326.

I want that one back, you know.

 

So… how many books do YOU own?

Go on, count. I’ll wait.

Seriously, it’s not like I’m doing anything else here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2011 7:19 am

    I probably still have about 150 (not including library books). I say still have because not long ago I purged my library (I really don’t have room for one) and gave 250-300 books to the local VA hospital for their library. Every once in a while, that still hurts. I love books. Mother says I got a double dose of the reading gene. Giving them away was a tough decision for me, but I’m thrilled that I was able to find such a good home for them.

    • February 18, 2011 12:08 pm

      Wow, I’m so proud of you for purging though! I’m looking at a possible HUGE purge and it just makes me want to cry. But I will write down all the books I own and make a “for my e-reader” list (for when I get an e-reader). πŸ™‚

  2. February 18, 2011 7:23 am

    Thanks for stopping by I’m Just That Way! Nice to meet you.
    I’m a reader, too. But, I have a love affair with the library because I don’t want to own too many books. The trouble is, I read so much that I forget what I’ve read and sometimes I even forget what I thought about the books! So, I created a “shelf” at shelfari.com so I could keep a list and rate them. Love that idea πŸ™‚ shelfari.com/dggotb

    • February 18, 2011 12:10 pm

      I love the idea of an online book list. I got a book journal in high school from the library summer reading contest, and I’ve been using it ever since–except for the last two years when I A) barely read anything new and B) couldn’t find the darned journal. But there is something fun about seeing all the hand-written books. I do have to start back to the library though. I traveled for work for a while and got into this bad habit of buying books instead of dealing with overdue fees. πŸ™‚

  3. February 19, 2011 4:24 pm

    Definitely hundreds – but I’m starting to buy ebooks now, instead, which will take up less space πŸ˜‰

    • February 19, 2011 6:16 pm

      Yes, I really do need an e-reader so I can buy books guilt-free. Or at least semi-guilt free… they’ll still cost money. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

