Skip to content

It’s a Miracle! (Or, 190 Reasons Why I Love My Friend Heather)

February 15, 2011
tags:

Remember when I started over, because my old blog was suddenly gone?

I was inconsolable for a time.

You might think, wow, that poor girl, she loses her camera in October, and her blog just a few months later–and right after she unveiled her new buttons! (Or you could have no idea what I’m talking about since those posts are gone.)

OR ARE THEY?????

I want to start by saying that when I lost my camera I found a tenuous grasp on acceptance, by which I mean to say that it was easy to say “Oh well, it happened, I can’t change it, but God will give me back double so I will be content.” It was much easier, however, to say “Ok God, where the heck is my ‘double freakin’ portion?'”

I really honestly vacillated between saying words I didn’t yet feel, and saying the words I did.

And then I lost my blog. My creations. Not just one weekend worth of photos but two years worth of posts.

Yet, somehow I held on to the hope that I would get my blog back–that I would get both blogs back. And somehow, even if I don’t, I’m somehow much more at peace than you’d think I should be. I mean, this is stuff I wrote!

But then, out of the blue, my friend Heather from Strangers In a Normal Land sent me a message: Check your email.

The title of the email: Did it work?
The content: the very last post from the old blog!

Oh. My. Goodness.

Yes, yes it worked! I messaged back.

Good, then I’ll send you the rest. I think the RSS on my phone picked up all of them.

Not an hour later I had 190 new emails. With every. Single. Post.

All of them.

Now, unfortunately Heather didn’t follow my other blog, Moments of Majesty, the same way, but out of the two, the most important was this one. (The other one is a sort of Bible study, and while I love those posts as well, they were a personal thing. Of course, if you’re reading this and you have copies of any of those posts please let me know!!!)

But compare having nothing from either blog, with having an entire blog returned. Hmmm, which makes me happiest? Having one of my blogs back!!!!

So over the next few hours days weeks I will be plugging away at adding in the old posts. All 190 of them.

Which makes this my TWO HUNDRED AND FIRST POST!!!!!!!!!

Instead of just my eleventh.

Thank you, thank you God for this blessing. What was lost has now been found. What was taken has been restored. All glory and honor to the one who knows all things, and blessings on those who follow the nudges you give them!

And to wrap this post up, let me presume to suggest two courses of action for you, dear reader:

1. Back up your blog posts! And beyond keeping them just on your computer, have them emailed to yourself. This way they’ll be backed up on gmail or hotmail or someone else’s servers.
2. Follow my friend Heather! Here’s her blog again: Strangers in a Normal Land. She isn’t blogging tons and tons just now, but she will be again soon, and you’re going to want to have her in your blogroll when that happens. Just trust me.

So, thank you God, for this amazing gift. You have restored that which I thought was lost forever, even though I always had hope of its return.

That is truly extraordinary.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Amber permalink
    February 15, 2011 9:15 am

    What a mighty God we serve.

  2. February 20, 2011 12:25 am

    Wow, that was a blessing! Stopping by from SITS. Very good tips as I’m a new blogger.

    • February 20, 2011 6:38 am

      I’m glad I could help you out… believe me there’s few feelings that are worse than the initial “Why is my blog gone? WHY IS MY BLOG GONE!” Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

