Skip to content

Happy… Monday? Me-Day? Oh, Right… V-Day.

February 14, 2011

You know something that makes Valentine’s day easier to handle when you’re single?

Not giving it any thought.

Seriously.

So it’s Valentine’s Day. So what? It’s also Monday, and it’s my gym day.

I’m actually really hoping that everyone at the gym is out eating lobster and not using my machines. That’s what I’m looking forward to today.

Some single people celebrate V-day by having an all-about-me day. Others get together and have a singles-only evening. Some wear all black.

I’ve done all of those. But this year, I’m not really doing any of them. Because I can honestly say I don’t need to. I’m not going to say that I don’t ever want to be in a relationship, and I’m not going to say that I’m really 100% ok with being single on Valentine’s day (or any other day). But let’s just say that for the moment, I am content.

This year I am deciding to discover more about who I am, who God made me to be, and to recognize the unfathomable depths of God’s love for me. That is the love story I want to live out right now.

A relationship, love, marriage (and perhaps children) will come.

Until then, I’ll be at the gym.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily C. permalink
    February 16, 2011 9:04 am

    contentment is so hard at any stage of life! so i’m excited that you’ve got it and pray that you keep it!

Leave a Reply

