Skip to content

When Life Hands You a Bowl Of Cherries…

February 11, 2011

… You have a bowl full of cherries. Or, in this case, cherries and strawberries.

Um, huh?

Ok, you might be wondering what on earth sort of proverb I’ve just made up. Well, hmmm….

Stop asking me questions, I’m thinking here!

To be completely honest when I decided to sit down and write this post I went through some of my photos for something fun to write about. (If a picture is worth a thousand words, then I’ve got YEARS of blogging ahead of myself).

So I opened a folder and saw this picture. And the phrase popped into my mind: “When life hands you a bowl of cherries…” and I thought, ok, I’ll go with that!

Clearly this is a takeoff of “when life hands you lemons.” (Yeah, yeah, duh)

Let’s think about this for a moment though, shall we? If life hands you lemons the idea is that it’s handed you something that makes your face squint up and leaves a sour (or bitter if you eat the rinds) taste in your mouth. The idea of taking those lemons and making lemonade is that we can take a bad situation and make it into a good one, if we just add enough positive energy and sugar. Lots and lots of tasty, tasty sugar.

So what do you do when life hands you something that isn’t really squishy-face bad? It’s just new, and different. Like cherries.

Maybe it just means that you’ve got something new and different in your life. Like cherries instead of lemons.

And of course you have to get to know this new type of fruit/situation. I mean a cherry is great, all meaty and sweet and juicy… but if you bite too hard into that bad boy you’ve got yourself a toothache coming. So a cherry isn’t exactly a perfect situation either, but it’s not all bad.

I think life really is like a box of chocolates bowl of fruit. Everything that comes to you is just a little bit different. Some you’ll like, others you’ll love. Some fruit, like pomegranates, are quite possibly the most annoying fruit to prepare, but the flavor that comes when you’ve worked hard to extract those seeds is totally worth the effort. (Funny how we could use that metaphor for life too.)

Let’s try to adopt this phrase from now on, in honor of all the different situations life throws at us. Of course when it’s something distasteful you can say life just handed you some lemons. But when it’s just something new and different, maybe we say hey, life just handed me a bowl of cherries!

And then spit the seeds at the people you don’t like.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Andy permalink
    February 11, 2011 3:54 pm

    What if life hands you lemons and cherries? Could I combine them and make cherry lemonade? MMMMMMMMMMMM cherry lemonade! It ‘s new and different and sweet and…

Leave a Reply

