Skip to content

Once Upon a Friday Night

February 9, 2011

Is it bad that I was super happy to stay at home on Friday night and watch a movie? By myself? And eat leftover Macaroni & Cheese with my cat?

Ok, well yes that does sound rather pathetic. But I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed a quiet restful evening… and the movie Once.

My friend the computer programmer told me many times that I absolutely had to watch this movie. So, because I value his movie judgement, I finally purchased it. I am very glad that I did!

Once is a rather artsy film, by which I mean to say not only is there wonderful music throughout the film and some great art direction, but it also doesn’t follow your typical boy-meets-girl-and-blah-blah-blah romance storyline. It’s totally not a cookie-cutter type of movie. It’s more of a candid snapshot of life, and less of a stylized, idealized portrayal of “life” where people seem to have carte blanche to live out their impulses and everything turns out the way you expect it to.

Rather, Once is one of those films where, afterward watching it, you can find yourself basking in the glow of new emotions, new ideas, new sounds, and suddenly you feel your creative juices flooding out of your brain and practically dripping down between your toes. So you rush to the computer, find “Falling Slowly” on YouTube so you can listen to it over and over and over again, and you start writing (or painting or soldering jewelry or whatever it is that you do).

What’s super cool about it also is that the two main characters play together in real life; their group is called The Swell Season. So if the music is what got your creative juices flowing, you can happily find more of it out there than what’s in the movie!

So, if you’re looking for something to watch this coming Friday night, because instead of being out and about with your friends you’d rather stay at home sharing a quart of ice cream with your cat, or because you’re looking for a new source of inspiration, try watching a movie like Once. You never know where your creativity might take you afterwards.

What is your favorite movie for inspiration?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 5:38 am

    Popped in from SITS! I love Finding Neverland, or Penelope for inspiration.

Leave a Reply

