Skip to content

What I’m Not

February 6, 2011

Sometimes I get too hard on myself. I focus on the negatives. I go down a spiral of self-degradation. But what I have to remember–what I often need to remind myself–is that there is grace. That without grace in my life, I could be in so many, many places that are far worse than I could even imagine.

Today, I want to focus a bit on what I am not, and what I am, through the grace of God.

I am not:

  • Homeless
  • Addicted to drugs or alcohol
  • Friendless
  • Agoraphobic
  • Heartless
  • Illiterate
  • Starving
  • Blind
  • Unable to walk
  • Married to the wrong person
  • Hopeless
  • Tone-deaf
  • Mute
  • Terminally ill
  • In prison
  • Dead

I am:

  • Passionate
  • Funny
  • Creative
  • Caring
  • Impulsive
  • Talkative
  • A good-to-fair writer
  • Intuitive
  • Loyal
  • Naive
  • Smart
  • An above-average bowler
  • Able to sing harmony, sometimes
  • Loud
  • Full of dreams
  • Alive

Thank God for the grace which allows me to focus on where I could be, where I am, and where I can be. Here’s hoping that my list of things I am gets better and better.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 7:01 pm

    I know how this goes. I have often felt sorry for myself or felt like my life was hard, when really it could be so so so so so so much worse. I have a hard time actually thinking of things that are good or that I like about myself, because I’ve had such a bad history with horrible self-esteem. I need to really come up with a list sometime of good, genuine things about myself so I can focus on what I am blessed to have and be thankful for that, because Lord knows it could be so much worse.

    PS: I love your new blog and am terrified to hear you gmail account got hacked! That is not cool, and quite scary. I hope everything is going well with your new blog and that everything works out for you with your new host!

Leave a Reply

